We have "White Supremacy", why not "Red and Black Spotted Supremacy"?

Nat1

First of all excuse me because I'm totally new to the concept of breeding, so perhaps I'm missing something. But as I have been reading on this and other salamander sites the last couple of days, some things I've read seemed like they could have been taken from Mein Kamph (ooops, I'm not allowed to mention that book in the Netherlands:P)! Ok, I can understand that if someone is raising any animals and selling them as something they are not, that's plain, outright cheating. But I've read people saying that if, for ex. one species of Triturus was released into the wild where another species of Triturus lives, and they mated it would be a terrible shame. My question is why??? Triturus carnifex's area of distibution seems to cross that of Triturus karelinii anyway, so if two of them get together and have sexual intercourse, what is the problem? Actually it seems to me that this would create stronger, healthier offspring than two newts who are brother and sister (as the case often is) having children. Inbreding increases the chances of the young being affected by recessive genes. With flowers, combining different traits is appreciated, as it adds almost unlimitedly to the possibilities of shapes, hues, height.

Or is it a question of old-school type nationialism? Should all newts go back to the "Wildersness" ;) from which they came, or that we are proud of our Great Crested Newt in that it is part of our Dutch culture, and therefore we fear losing a cultural icon if Southern Crested Newts with their darker patches and significantly smaller stature mix with them? Is the important point that we can count on fixed behavioral patterns such as eating a cold meal of frozen bloodworms at noon and a warm meal of live worms at EXACTLY 18:00? And not be aggressive towards male-male pairing newts :P?

Jeroen.S